Titanic (1997)

Director: James Cameron

Language: Garbage

Well, I got tipsy. Maybe that’ll help.

Broadly speaking, this is a romantic period drama. There are some legit big hats. I’m not really sure what else to say in favour of it. I don’t know what mood you have to be in for this film to feel legitimately good, but I can say that it is a lot of fun to shout at angrily with friends. Particularly when you got to planning your own escape from the Titanic. It becomes like a kind of manic pick your own adventure.

Lots of people, however, do give shits about this movie. So maybe ask them? Perhaps they saw what I failed to perceive. Or maybe it is just terrible. Suck it and see? Or just realise that you know the plot and most of the talking points from the intervening 19 years of pop culture references and that you may really not be missing out on anything else.

